Travel Post: Gardens by the Bay, Asia’s Pandora

Gardens by the Bay brings to life NParks’ vision of creating a City in a Garden. The Gardens captures the essence of Singapore as the premier tropical Garden City with the perfect environment in which to live and work – making Singapore a leading global city of the 21st century.

Gardens by the Bay

Returning to Singapore for only 2 weeks was probably the most irrational decision I’ve ever made (thus far). Attending a family event that didn’t require my presence was an excuse for me to see my family and friends again. But there’s nothing like the joy of stepping through the airport gates and being back in the comfort of home. Fortunately I get to do all the tourist-y stuff in Singapore with my Indonesian grandma, who decided to extend her stay because of me (love her to bits).

Singapore, a small city known for its lush greenery, is a beautiful (price friendly) place for tourists to shop and feast on a wide array of Indian, Malay and Chinese cuisines. From the perspective of a local, describing the food as “good” would be a severe understatement. I’m serious!

Going back to the point of doing something new in Singapore, my brother decided to bring my grandma and I to a recently launched site called “Gardens by the Bay”. I’ve never been there but I have driven past the site when it was still undergoing construction. It looked pretty good (impressive) from a far, thinking that it’d be darn pretty inside, I decided to give it a shot even though I’m not much of a floral/fauna type of person.

While Singapore is pretty well connected, Gardens by the Bay (GB) was situated at one far end of the island so getting there was quite a hassle. Nevertheless, I was deeply fascinated and mesmerized by the interior once I arrived. The wide airy space and simple ergonomic designs were definite plus points of the general area.

Unlike Carlton Garden, structures in GB made it look really synthetic. What I found ironic was despite it being a leading green initiative, the wooden furnitures around the vicinity didn’t seem to support that notion. Think of those poor giant ancient trees!

Okay back to GB!

My brother decided to bring us through a strategic route around GB. So our first stop was the Flower Dome.

The Flower Dome is basically a large green house. The controlled temperature and humidity allows for the growth of exotic plants that would otherwise wither in Singapore’s immensely hot and wet tropical weather. I have to be brutally honest to say that I got really bored after a while. But that might be due to my lack of interest in plant life. For fans, you’d be won over by the wide range of flowers and trees on display.

The Flower Dome is cleverly divided into sections according to their country of origin. There were Baobabs from Africa and Australia, olive trees from Greece, palm trees from Beverly Hills, and a huge bed of roses that reminded me of the movie Coraline.

   

After the Flower Dome, my brother led us to the Cloud Forest. That place is AMAZING! Being a huge fan of Avatar (not the Airbender), I would say that the Cloud Forest could be a duplicate of Pandora. Could be. What’s special about this place is how it’s been constructed and how the water cycle regulates itself, ingeniously supplying water to the plants through embedded pipes.

Cloud Forest is definitely worth the visit. However, I reckon they have one pitcher plant too many. I was expecting to see a massive range of plants and flowers from dangerous mountainous regions. That was definitely a big disappointment.

 

While GB was something different, I won’t find myself going back anytime soon. Maybe my expectations were too high. But it’s a place worth the visit if you happen to be in Singapore for a short trip.

Before I end this post, here’s a spoof someone did for his birthday at GB. Hilarious.

Picture source for Avatar Parody

Disclaimer: All pictures used were taken by the author of this entry.

One thought on “Travel Post: Gardens by the Bay, Asia’s Pandora

  1. Hearing you talk about the gardens by the bay it seemed like there was something special about it. I guess that it is worth the $20 you have to spend to get in. It doesn’t look all the colourful but I guess that’s because I’m more in tune for bright flora like roses, lilies and the such but this sort of natural, native plantation seems like it is interesting and fun for our tiny, island nation. Glad to see that even though you don’t have a firm interest in plants, you enjoyed this. Shows that Singapore really is a garden city.

Leave a Reply

